Temple trip and Civil Rights

This week we went to the Temple. It was good to see missionaries from around the state that I haven’t seen for while. I’m still learning about the Temple and all that it taught there.  We were assigned to stay after and help fold and clean the clothes to get ready for the next session. It’s cool to see what goes on behind the scenes!
We went to the Civil Rights Institute in Birmingham this morning. It’s crazy to think that almost exactly a year ago I went with Hma. Portilla. How time flies!!! I love learning about the history here and I’m so grateful for the truly courageous men and women who stood up to fight for the rights they deserved. It’s amazing to live here in the heart of it all.
We taught Michaela and Whitney and Autumn this week. Three different women who have a such a great and unique testimonies of the Gospel. We are helping them prepare for baptism and overcome their personal challenges. The Lord has really blessed us and we are seeing miracles in their progression. Thank you for all the prayers for them.
 I read a great article that our District Leader gave us.
 Sis. Hubbard and I decided to do what the elders in the article did and we already feel a difference. I’m thankful for the principles of sacrifice and service. Two aspects of the Gospel I know are true and truly bring blessings when we put them into practice. I love this scripture from Matt. 16:25
For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: and whosoever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.”
 
I know that as we give our all in the service of the Lord by serving our fellow men we will be greatly blessed and find more joy and fulfillment in this life. Let’s go out and just serve!
I love y’all!! Have a great week.
Hermana Johnson
p.s. Here are some funny Southern things I’ve heard this week
“Well butter my butt and call me a biscuit!!”
“I didn’t fall off the turnip truck yesterday.”
“Y’all come back now, ya hear?”
Inline image 1Inline image 3Inline image 2
Inline image 4Inline image 5
Leave a Reply

