o Be Wise

I love this scripture in the Jacob in the BOM. It says it all, don’t you think?

Our President always shows us this quote whenever he trains us:
“Whenever I’m about to do something, I think, would an idiot do that? And if they would, I do not do that thing.”  
 This can be related to our lives spiritually, emotionally, or physically. It’s pretty straightforward advice that I know if we follow we will avoid a lot of dangerous or harmful situations.  I hope y’all can think about this quote whenever you think of speeding on the icy freeway, saying something mean to someone you love, or skipping out on scripture study for the day.  Choosing to follow the Savior and live like he lived will provide us with more capacity to love others, greater understanding of the challenges in life, and an increased desire to do the things we must do to live with Heavenly Father again. This I know because I’ve experienced it!!
Anyway. This week was really good! After a long but super great MLC we went to work and planned for Zone Training. We were able to give all the trainings and I think it was a great meeting. Hma. Charlesworth is a great teacher and I’m so happy she’s helping me figure out this whole STL thing.
Then I went on an exchange with Sister Nielsen, my cute trainee I served with in Locust Fork! She has grown so much and I can’t believe it’s been six months since we were together. Time flies when you’re serving the Lord.
This week we have been really working and trying to find THE family that is ready to accept and live the Gospel. We have been praying and after our 100 hours we were thinking, “what more can we do to find this Fam?” Charlesworth had the great idea to fast. We started on Friday night and then went out to work all Saturday. No luck. We kept fasting on Sunday, praying that we would find THE family. That morning we got a text from our investigator Kameron who told us her whole family was coming! Her dad is super inactive and her brother and mom aren’t members. They all came to church and seemed like they enjoyed it! It was so amazing to see them all there. But that’s not all. We continued our day, knocking on doors and trying not to freeze. Then we met the CUTEST family ever! They have 3 girls that are so fun and when we explained the BOM they were very attentive and so cute as we said a prayer with them. We set up a time to come back and they seem really excited! Then we followed up with a cute older couple and they let us in and gave us hot chocolate and we explained the restoration and invited them to be baptized and they said, “sure, I wouldn’t mind being baptized again!”  Miracle.
After that, we had a few minutes to work before we went to a members house to watch the YSA devotional, (which was really good you should watch it:) so we knocked on a few doors and met a really cool man who listened to us explain the BOM and Joseph Smith and the spirit was there SO strongly and he said, “Y’all can definitely come back and explain more to my wife and I. We just had a baby and are learning more about each others religions.”  What?? We keep meeting family after family and I know the Lord has seen our sacrifice and is just blessing us.
I know the Spirit of God is in this work. He wants all of His children to have the restored Gospel and he will help all those who wish to help him in this great cause. I know I have shared this scripture before. But it’s just one of my favorites.
D&C 128:22 “Brethren, shall we not go on in so great a cause? Go forward and not backward. Courage, brethren; and on, on to the victory!” 
I know Heavenly Father will give us the courage we need to be wise, to open our mouths, and share the Gospel with all of his children. Even when our faith is weak, or when we think we can’t go on another day, that is when He is there to give us our every need. I love my Savior, I love this Gospel and this Church. I know the Book of Mormon is the word of God, and that it was written for us! 
 
I hope y’all have a great week. Stay steadfast in the Savior!
-Hermana Johnson
1-We just thought this was hilarious. Gotta love the south
2- I love Gadsden, AL. That is where Sis. Nielsen is serving. It’s so cute!
3- We went and got Friday night Nachos at a cute Mexican restaurante in a tiny town. The cute Hispanics  there loved that we could speak Spanish!  
Inline image 1
Inline image 2
Inline image 6
Inline image 5

Click here to Reply, Reply to all, or Forward
11.53 GB (76%) of 15 GB used
Last account activity: 1 minute ago

Details

29 more
Savanna Johnson
Add to circles
Show details
Leave a Reply

