Scriptures-Manual of Life

Hi y’all!  What a great week it has been! We celebrated Hermana Portilla’s birthday and tracted and taught and it was just all around a good time.  We ate so. much. food. at members houses this week. The first of the month is when they pass around the meal calendar so we are always fed more now than towards the end of the month.  I honestly LOVE Mexican food and now it’s all I want to eat!

Sometimes the weeks pass by and I can’t remember what happened but I just remember it was good.  It’s always good though, even if we have harder or less successful days, there is something great in each one.  One thing that happened was that we were supposed to have a lesson with a man we met on the street who told us the he knew the BOM was true.  We were really excited for the lesson because I could just feel this man was going to be baptized one day.  Well he canceled and we were pretty bummed. BUT, he called us yesterday to just say that he was thinking about what we said and that he wanted us to know that he hadn’t just cancelled, and that he would really like to talk to us this week.  It’s a small thing, but as missionaries it’s the best when people call us to explain, usually it’s us calling them, repeatedly.

Yesterday we had a lot of less actives come to church!! One awesome woman named Aurora who served a mission in Mexico came! She hadn’t been to church in 2 years but she brought her kids and her son is old enough to be baptized.  Maria and Victor came as well. They have a lot of questions but are still progressing.

I had the opportunity to give yet another talk in Sacrament Meeting yesterday, on Family History.  They told me Thurs, which meant very little time to prepare.  But it went ok I think….I told about helping edit my great-grandpas book.  I really am thankful for the tools the church has to help us do family history.

I was thinking about my time here as a missionary. Sometimes I get really frustrated with myself because being a missionary exposes all your weaknesses.  One day I was thinking that I will never get to the point of being good enough, but then I thought, “good enough for what?”  We will always be continually progressing and when we reach a goal, we just set new ones.  I realized that being on a mission is a learning process and God doesn’t expect us to be perfect, just to do our best.

I love this scripture Mosiah 4:11 “…I have said before, that as ye have come to the knowledge of the glory of God..and have tasted of his love…even so I would that ye should remember, and always retain in remembrance, the greatness of God…and humble yourselves even in the depths of humility, calling on the name of the Lord daily, and standing steadfastly in the faith of that which is to come.”  Let’s stand firm in our faith and always REMEMBER Christ and Heavenly Father. When we do that we will recognize his hand in our lives and he all the blessing we have. So now I invite you to think of a way you can REMEMBER Him and what that means in our lives.

Use the scriptures to answer your questions, find peace, and receive counsel. The stories are old, but the teachings of God are applicable in all times.  I know we can come closer to Christ as we learn about Him, and the more we understand him, our desire to be like Him will increase.

I love you all! Now enjoy some photos:

100_1283 100_1295 100_1293 100_1294 100_1288 100_1285

These were all on Hermana Portillas birthday! She turned 21 and we call her the ‘mama’ of the District. We had a sleepover on her birthday as well.  It’s just the six of us sisters in the whole zone, so we’re pretty close and have a lot of fun!

 

Leave a Reply

